Why September 12th

    

      I don’t think many of us were the same person on September 12th as we were on September 11th.  We were in shock, and after our initial horror, perhaps we stopped for a minute to reflect on what was important in our lives.  Some called family members, some held their children a little longer, and some ran to a church to seek solace in God. 

     We saw patriotic Americans snap into action right after the planes crashed into our buildings and into the field in Pennsylvania.  We saw pure heroics in the emergency personnel who put their lives on the line to save people who were trapped in what could only have been a living sulfur prison.  We saw the American flag flying everywhere and we heard ‘Proud to be an American’ more times than we ever heard when it first was released in the 1980s. 

     What happened in the eleven years since that day?  Are you a better person than you were when you saw our country’s wall breached?  Did you vow to do life a little differently?  Where are you now?

     This is my response to the call of September 12th.  Perhaps it’s late, but that’s the beauty of this life.  Until you’re just a memory you have a chance to try again. 

      I want to reveal the truth; the way I see the truth anyhow.  Where I see this country and the world are now and how the globe has changed since September 11th, 2001.  Of course it will all be in light of scripture, where I try and center my life. 

     I’ve never been a shrinking violet, especially with my words, and I don’t intend on being one now.  I don’t blindly follow anyone and I do my research on a subject before I comment on it.  I’m not opposed to hearing where I’m incorrect, and I am a firm believer in heated debate over getting angry and walking away.  I would like a conversation to start here.  Perhaps if we had more people talking we might be in a different place right now.

      I’ve named this blog Vine and Fig Tree Blessing from Micah 4:4, “Every man will sit under his own vine and under his own fig tree, and no one will make them afraid, for the LORD Almighty has spoken.”  It was a promise to Israel of God’s eventual restoration and I believe that it can be a promise to us as well.  In the Lord’s Day there will no longer be nation against nation.  There will be peace that is not human-driven, but God-driven.  I am believing for that day and until then we can seek the truth together.

Leave a Reply

